12/11/2019
12:55 PM

Google Chrome Now Automatically Alerts Users on Compromised Passwords

A series of security enhancements seek to protect users from phishing and warn them when credentials have been compromised.



Passwords are a fact of security life for more users, and Google has just announced a series of new password protections in its Chrome browser on all platforms.

The first is an immediate alert if the credentials you enter on a website or app have been compromised. Based on the Password Checkup technology introduced in February, the feature is now part of the Safe Browsing enhancements announced on December 10.

Safe Browsing also includes a list of known phishing sites, which Google says is updated every 30 minutes. And if the user is logged into their Google account while browsing, the suite also makes use of predictive phishing algorithms to warn of sites that might have slipped through the protecting net of the known phishing list.

For those using shared devices, the notification of the account in use is now larger and more obvious, with a goal of making accidental account use less likely.

The enhanced suite of protections, developed at the Google Safety Engineering Center (GSEC) based in Munich, Germany, are being rolled out to customers over the next few weeks.

For more, read here.

Check out The Edge, Dark Reading's new section for features, threat data, and in-depth perspectives. Today's top story: "Security 101: What Is a Man-in-the-Middle Attack?"

Dark Reading's Quick Hits delivers a brief synopsis and summary of the significance of breaking news events. For more information from the original source of the news item, please follow the link provided in this article. View Full Bio
 

Recommended Reading:

Comment  | 
Email This  | 
Print  | 
RSS
More Insights
Copyright © 2020 UBM Electronics, A UBM company, All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Terms of Service